Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | April 11, 2014

Spring!

“…what makes you sick also makes you fat, and what makes you fat makes you sick.” -Dr. Mark Hyman.

Darrin and I are about to begin a diet detox. True, we both want to lose weight, but more important to both of us is regaining health. I was recently diagnosed with insulin resistance – and I had no idea what that meant. Now that I know, I’m scared; somewhat relieved to finally know why after pushing so hard with exercise and activity I wasn’t seeing any results (in fact the scale was going up) but scared. That’s when I started doing some research on reversing insulin resistance, and I kept coming back to the theories and plans of Dr. Mark Hyman.

So, today we got the book, The Blood Sugar Solution 10-Day Detox. I know the title is 10 days, which I’m sure we can do. That being said, I also know that the damage my body and health have sustained didn’t happen in 10 days, and subsequently nothing is going to reverse and repair in 10 days. We are prepared to learn a new way. We have expectations beyond physical change: the food must be delicious; the food must be such that we are able to continue to host dinner parties and still feed our friends well; the food must use ingredients that don’t require a trek into some foreign landscape to harvest; and a meal cannot take more than an hour of preparation time.

Sunday will be Day 1. Sunday. That means that we have to create a shopping list and procure the things we need tomorrow. I will share that shopping list here once it’s created. This blog, for the next little while will act as a sort of journal through the program – I will share shopping lists, meal plans, recipes, insights, and break-downs. There will be break-downs, count on it.


Leave a comment

Categories