Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | April 14, 2009

Bottoms Up

Martini

I think we all have those days that feel like every chore on the to-do list, every deadline, and every resolution comes due.  That, for me, is today.  Nothing is particularly pressing today, and yet everything is vying for some attention.  I, like everyone else, have deadlines.  I have resolutions that have gone unkept, and I definitely have a to-do list.

I wish I could just get it all done, today, and then I could go back to being myself.  There’s something about obligation that robs us of being who we really are.  Anything joyous is robbed of it’s full potential.  Everything restful is disturbed by that sense of tumult.  Everything delicious becomes less-so and not as palatable.  Sad.

So, that being said, the only thing I can think to do is drown my nagging concerns with alcohol.  Who doesn’t love that burn that starts in your throat, continues down to your belly, and sits for a minute?  It reminds me that I’m still alive.

Here are a few of my favorite concoctions:

Cosmopolitan Martini

Ingredients
4 parts Citron Vodka
2 parts Cointreau or Triple Sec
2 parts Cranberry Juice
1 part Fresh Lime Juice

Directions
Shake all ingredients together with ice and serve with a twist.

Lemon Drop Martini

Ingredients
1 1/2 ounces Vodka
1/2 ounce Triple Sec
1 teaspoon Superfine Sugar
3/4 ounce Fresh Lemon Juice

Directions
Mix the Vodka, Triple Sec, sugar, and lemon juice in a shaker with ice.  Shake until sugar is dissolved.  Serve with a twist.

Leave a Reply

Categories

