Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | April 23, 2009

Puff Pastry Quiche with Applewood Smoked Bacon, Onion, Cheddar, and Broccoli

Quiche

I’m a rule breaker.  Fact.  I don’t like being told what to do, and I typically don’t do what I’m told.  Sometimes this is out of spite, and sometimes I simply just don’t feel like it.  Either way, it just seems to be part of who I am.  The enigma that is Josey.  That being said, I often even find myself changing recipes.  I just seem to resist staying in the lines, the arbitrary is more my style. Sometimes this works out, and sometimes, well, it doesn’t.  Sometimes, I end up with a big, waste of money, mess.  Yesterday was not one of those times. 

Yesterday I found success.  This success was well taken, and I feel I’ve earned it.  I’ve been craving quiche for weeks, seriously, weeks.  Maybe 3 weeks or so ago I decided to make a quiche.  I found a recipe, adapted it, and came out with two lovely, ready to bake quiche.  I put them in the oven, set the timer and hit the sofa, anxiously awaiting the familiar beep of the timer signaling a creation is complete.  I didn’t hear the beep.  Nothing.  Three hours later, I smelled burnt.  Yup, I burnt those two quiche to a airy crisp!  There was no saving them.  Notta.  That’s why, when I heard that timer yesterday, I felt happiness.  In addition to happiness, I experienced that much sought satisfaction of an adaptation proving brilliant.  Bon Appetit!

Quiche

Puff Pastry Quiche
         adpated from Rock Recipes

Ingredients
1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
6 eggs
6 slices Applewood Smoked Bacon, cooked until crisp and chopped
1/2 cup light cream
1/4 cup minced onion
1/2 cup broccoli florets
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon fresh grated pepper

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
Place the puff pastry sheet in a greased 8×8 inch baking pan, covering the bottom and sides.
Whisk together eggs, cream, salt, and pepper.
Fold in the bacon, onion, broccoli, and cheddar.
Pour into prepared crust.
Bake for approximately 35 minutes or until the eggs are fully set and the crust is golden.

Leave a Reply

Categories

