Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | April 29, 2009

Loaded Nachos

Loaded Nachos

I feel like a DJ.  A DJ at a really fun party, and you’re all invited!  I also feel like a hippo.  A hippo because I eat all of these things that I make, and I despise working out.  Life for me, it’s tough.  For instance, I was doing so well yesterday.  I awoke fairly early, and took the dogs for a walk (I even went around the loop twice!).  I’d had a single slice of bread with some of my New England Chicken Salad for a late breakfast, left for class, and a bit later had a banana as a snack….pretty good right?  I was released from classes early, drove home quickly, only to find a husband snoring on the screen porch and a sheet of the most fabulous Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies, still warm, in the kitchen.  I ate 4.  Damn you diet Gods!

Anyway, this isn’t about me, it’s about you!  Imagine that – someone, somewhere, as is suggested in many popular songs of old, is thinking of you.  That’s okay, you should feel special, you deserve it!  You also deserve to have your requests heard and met.  And so, in true DJ fashion I’ve heard your requests and here it is; a “recipe” I’m almost embarassed to post because it’s just too easy – Loaded Nachos!  There’s only one catch: you must enjoy them with a Mexican-style beverage like, Cranberry Margaritas to appreciate them fully.  Sorry folks, gotta have some rules around here!

Loaded Nachos

Ingredients
1/2 large bag of restaurant style yellow corn tortilla chips
2 jalapeno peppers, sliced into rounds
1/4 cup sliced black olives
1 roma tomato, 1/4 inch dice
1 1/2+ cups sharp cheddar, shredded (or a mixture of Mexican cheeses)
Cilantro, finely chopped

Directions
Preheat your oven to 425 degrees F.
Arrange 1/2 of the tortilla chips on a large, oven-safe platter.
Sprinkle with half of the cheese.
Arrange remaining tortilla chips over cheese.
Evenly ditribute jalapeno rounds, black olives, and diced tomato over chips.
Top with remaining cheese.
Bake for approximately 10-12 minutes to melt cheese to a golden brown. (Broil for a minute or two if desired).
Sprinkle with chopped cilantro.
Serve with Mexican Spring Guacamole, fresh salsa, and sour cream.

Ole!

Leave a Reply

Categories

