Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | August 24, 2009

Blueberry Lemon Loaf

Every year I try to pick fresh berries at a local farm not 15 minutes from the house.  Something about supporting local farmers and choosing my own fruit makes me feel good inside.  This past month Drin and I headed down to C. N. Smith Farm to pick blueberries together.  It took us less than an hour to pick more than 5 pounds of the most delicious blueberries I’ve ever had.

Once in the kitchen, while picking over and washing the warm sapphire jewels, I couldn’t wait to bake with them.  I knew I wanted them in a bread, something really bright and fresh.  I knew what I wanted, but wasn’t sure in which of my hundreds of cook books to start looking.  The task seemed daunting, and time consuming.  I didn’t have time, I wanted something NOW!  And so, I decided to turn to my trusted allrecipes site.

It didn’t take long to find exactly what I was looking for:  Lemon Blueberry Loaf.  After perusing the reviews, ditching those made by people who completely alter the original recipe and then poorly grade their own poorly executed adaptions, I decided that pretty much completely sticking with the recipe, as written, would be my route, except I substituted Splenda for the sugar (it’s cup for cup, so the original called for 3/4 cup white sugar).  There was no mistake in my judgment, this bread was both absolutely delicious and stunning.  I’ve made three since – hey, I’m a girl of weak will power, so shoot me!

Blueberry Lemon Loaf

Blueberry Lemon Loaf
                    From: allrecipes

Ingredients
1 lemon
1 tablespoon confectioners’ sugar

3/4 cup splenda
1/4 cup melted butter
2 eggs
1/4 cup sour cream
1/3 cup milk
1 2/3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups frozen blueberries

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
Grate the zest from the lemon.  Cut the lemon in half and squeeze the juice from both halves.
Make a topping by whisking together 1 teaspoon of the lemon zest, 1 tablespoon of the lemon juice, and the confectioners’ sugar in a small bowl; set aside.

Whisk together the white sugar, melted butter, eggs, sour cream, remaining lemon zest, remaining lemon juice in a large bowl until evenly blended.  Stir in the milk; set aside.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.  Remove 3 tablespoons of the flour mixture and set aside.  Make a well in the center of the remaining flour mixture; pour the milk mixture into the well and stir the batter just until combined.

Fold the frozen blueberries into the reserved 3 tablespoons of the flour mixture to coat, then fold into the batter.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan. 

Bake in preheated oven for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Remove from the oven; immediately poke holes all over the top of the loaf and pour the lemon and confectioners’ sugar topping evenly over the loaf.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes  before removing to cool completely on a rack.

Nutritional Information
Servings 12
Calories 132
Fat 6 g
Carbohydrates 18 g
Protein 3 g
Fiber 1 g
WW Points+ 4

 

Responses

  1. Oh my gosh Jo! That looks AMAZING!

    You really need to live closer 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

