Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | September 27, 2009

Caramel Apple Muffins

Gravenstein

Gravenstein

I still haven’t made these.
That’s right, I have not made these.
I did find the recipe and I think I’ll love them, and I’m known for writing down recipes on a scrap of paper and never making said recipe.  So, I figured I would blog about something I’m going to make.  I’m making them tomorrow; I swear.  I’ll pick up the ingredients on my lunch break….uh, no, wait.  I have a law school meeting tomorrow.  Damn.  I have class Tuesday night.  Okay, okay, Wednesday night.  Wednesday night I’ll make these.  You’ll see.

Caramel Apple Muffins
adapted from:  Rock Recipes

Ingredients
2 ½ cups flour
½ cup white sugar
¼ cup brown sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup sour cream
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 Gravenstein or McCoun apples, peeled cored and cut into chunks
30 soft caramel candies, quartered

 Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.
In another bowl, whisk together vegetable oil, sour cream, milk, eggs and vanilla.
Add the mixture to the dry ingredients and fold in well.  During the last few turns of folding add apple and caramels.  Mix only enough to incorporate the dry ingredients.  Do not over-mix.  Spoon batter into paper-lined muffin tins.  Sprinkle tops with caramels and apples.  Bake for 25 to 35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

