Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | October 7, 2009

The Favorites Star – Nova Scotia Ginger Sparkles

I was checking my favorites today.  I stumbled across a site called Tuckerman:  Sous Chef.  I’d forgotten I’d even created that blog!  Here is a copy of the blog, and a link to the original post from August 8, 2008:

Nova Scotia Ginger Sparkles

Nova Scotia Ginger Sparkles

I know, I know. It’s August and here I am thinking about Christmas! Actually, I’m thinking about preparing Christmas gifts, our annual donation to the church, and of course, Christmas in the kitchen! This morning I spent some time, listening to Christmas carols and making Nova Scotia Ginger Sparkles, one of our traditional Christmas cookies. Naturally, Tuckerman was at my feet, and graciously taste testing the final results.

Every year I find myself scrambling to get prepared for Christmas. We love spending time in the kitchen, and Christmas is no exception. In the past few years Christmas preparations have become particularly challenging with college finals, and the stress they tote with them, falling often just days before Santa’s arrival. This year will be different! At least I hope!

In supporting this resolution, I’ve decided to start a blog to help organize my thoughts, schedules, and of course, holiday recipes! With my new sous chef, Tuckerman, at my feet, this holiday season is sure to be an enjoyable and appetizing success!

Nova Scotia Ginger Sparkles
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup molasses
3/4 cup margarine
1 egg, beaten
Organic sugar

 

Cream margarine and brown sugar together. Add beaten egg and molasses. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves. Add mixture to creamed mixture. Mix to combine. Roll dough into balls and then in organic sugar to coat. Bake at 375 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes.
 

Posted by Tuckerman’s Mum at 7:48 AM 0 comments
Leave a Reply

Categories

