Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | November 4, 2009

My Nana’s Cinnamon Buns

Nana

Nana

Everyone….this is Nana.

Nana…..this is everyone.

My Nana is the cutest.  I mean, seriously, I defy you to find a cuter Nana.  It can’t be done.  Not only is my Nana cute, she’s wonderful, I mean, won-der-ful.  There is absolutely nothing one could say bad about my Nana.  Notta.  Ain’t gonna happen….wellllllll…maybe one thing.  She made us all FAT.  That’s right.  FAT.

My Nana (as mentioned in previous posts) always fed us as much as we could eat…and then some.  Her food was that good old down home Nana food.  Everyone knows what I mean.  Nanas just have a way with food, and my Nana was no exception (in that regard).  One of the things my Nana made that I LOVED was cinnamon rolls.  Yup, I loved ’em, I still do!

Now, my Nana’s cinnamon rolls aren’t your average, everyday roll.  No.  They don’t contain yeast, yet they puff up into tight little spirals of sugary goodness.  They don’t take 3 hours to knead, raise, punch, raise, form, raise….you get the idea.  Nope.  You mix, smush, roll, sprinkle, roll-up, place, and bake.  You bake for 12 minutes.  That’s it.  So, in less than half of an hour, I am whisked back into my childhood, to a yellow kitchen with small counters (Nana was notably short and had custom cabinets), an avocado stove, and a clear plastic with blue and yellow patterned ink cookie jug full to the brim with sticky, sugary, yummy, cinnamon rolls.  I think Nana called them buns.  Cinnamon Buns.

NCB

Nana’s Cinnamon Buns
adapted from The New Purity Cook Book

Ingredients
3 cups flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup shortening
1 egg
1 cup milk
butter, softened
brown sugar
cinnamon

Nana Notes

Directions
Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.
Cut in shortening until fine pieces.
Add egg and milk.
Knead dough a few times to help it come together.
Roll out into a 1/8 inch thick rectangle on a lightly floured surface.
Spread the entire surface of the rectangle with the softened butter.
Sprinkle evenly with brown sugar and cinnamon.

Sprinkle
Roll up from the longest side jelly-roll style.

Cut Side Down
Cut into 1 inch slices and place cut side down on a cookie sheet.

450 for 12 minutes
Bake for 12 minutes.

Drizzle
While still warm, drizzle with a simple glaze made from confectioners’ sugar, milk, and vanilla.

Share!

Yum!

Sous Chefs

Responses

  1. Wow, these look AMAZING! I am definitely making these!

    • Please do! I think you’ll agree, they’re as yummy tasting as they look! Let me know how they turn out!

  2. Well now – this site does a wonderful thing – it shares your love and Mom’s recipes with the whole world – This is wonderful Josey!! You are a wonderful person inside and out!!! Love Aunt Paulette xoxoxo

  3. YUM!!! They looks so soft and gooey!!

  4. Unfortunately I am allergic to cinnamon but these just looked soo good. I used your dough recipe then some nutmeg, sugar, chopped walnuts and baked to soft perfection then iced with a homemade peach frosting. Yum


Leave a Reply

Categories

