Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | November 23, 2009

It’s Time to Pay the “Plumber” – Apple Crisp

When I met my Drin, I was broke – or at least on my way to being broke.  I’d just purchased my first house in Massachusetts, a giant, lovely, antiquated victorian.  It was lovely.  It was huge.  It was the money pit.  Though I loved that house, the house was literally falling down around me. 

Enter Drin.  He knew how to fix things, and thought my butt looked good in jeans.  It was a match made in heaven.  He would make the long journey from Abington to Lowell every day to see me, and to fix my house.  I couldn’t pay him the way most pay contractors who show up.  As I mentioned, I was broke, and he was receiving other “favors”.  Legitimately though, I fed him with food.  Cookies, quesadillas, pie, and most memorably, apple crisp.  He loved apple crisp.  We still joke about how I paid “the plumber” with cookies and applecrisp, and…

I still make that very same apple crisp, and we both still love it.

Josey’s Apple Crisp

Ingredients
4 large Granny Smith Apples
1 cup flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup oats
3/4 cup butter

Directions
Peel, core and slice apples (feed the peels to your dog(s), if you’ve got ’em). 
Place slices into the bottom of a baking dish.
Sprinkle with spices if you want – I use apple pie spice (sometimes).
Combine flour, brown sugar, and oats.  Cut in butter and crumble together with your hands.
Sprinkle evenly over apples.
Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.

Yum!

Responses

  1. […] oats, and sugar on top of golden, gooey, sticky, sweet McCoun Apples.  I’m talking about Apple Crisp, of […]

  2. I absolutely love the pictures included with this recipe…your home and family look as warm and inviting as this recipe is. I miss you so much!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

