Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | December 1, 2009

A Servantless American (Canadian) Cook – Supremes de Volaille aux Champignons

So, trendy as it may be, I’ve joined the Julia Child cook-and-blog-about-it band wagon.  This is the Josey/Julia Project – and I am a servantless American (Canadian) cook – so why not?  What have I got to lose?

It started with Gratin aux Fruits de Mer – or more recognizably, Gratin of Creamed Seafood.  Doesn’t the French version sound so much more sophisticated?  Luxurious?  Delicious?  – well, no matter how you say it, it was all of those things.  And, easy.  Can you believe it, easy.

Now, that’s not what this blog is about, no.  This is about the Supremes de Volaille aux Champignons – Chicken Breasts with Mushroom and Cream.  I’d been eyeing this recipe for maybe 2 weeks.  Yesterday I decided it would no longer be eye-candy only.  I stopped at Trucci’s on the way home from work (knowing Trucci’s would have the vermouth too and I wouldn’t have to make two stops) to pick up the ingredients.  It was a quick 15 minute shopping trip, and I was soon back in my Jeep heading for home.  As soon as I arrived, I was greeted by a dark entrance, and stumbled across the front lawn, up the stairs, bags tugging at my arms and entered the house to a husband sleeping on the couch – At least the dogs greeted me at the door.  I head straight to the kitchen, where I started cleaning and slicing the mushrooms.  Drin says he woke shortly after I entered the house and thought he was imagining things when he heard chopping in the kitchen not 2 minutes after I’d made my entrance.  Yup, I was on a mission.  And I was hungry.

Let me tell you, there is only one word to describe this – YUM.  That’s right, YUM.  My word this was delicious.  So much so that you can’t help but utter yum after each forkful is stuffed into your eager face.  Amazing.  Just amazing.  I can’t wait to make it again.

Supremes de Volaille aux Champignons
     from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Julia Child

Ingredients
4 supremes (boneless, skinless chicken breasts)
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
Pinch pepper
5 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon minced shallot or green onion
1/4 pound sliced mushrooms
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup white or brown stock
1/4 cup dry white vermouth
1 cup whipping cream
salt and pepper, to taste
2 tablespoons minced parsley

Mise En Place

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Rub the chicken with drops of lemon juice and season lightly with salt and pepper. 
Heat the butter in a heavy, oven-proof casserole, about 10 inches in diameter until it is foaming. 

Stir in the shallot and saute a moment without browning. 
Then stir in the mushrooms and saute lightly for a minute or two without browning. 

Season with to taste.
Quickly roll the chicken in the butter mixture and lay a piece of buttered wax paper over the chicken, cover the casserole and place in hot oven. 
After 6 minutes, press top of chicken with your finger; if still soft, return to oven for a moment or two. 
When the meat is springy to the touch, it is done. 
Remove the chicken from the casserole, place on a warm platter, cover and set aside.
To make the sauce, return the casserole to the stove top, over high heat.
Pour the stock and vermouth into the casserole with the butter mixture and mushrooms. 
Boil down quickly over the high heat until liquid is syrupy. 
Stir in the cream and boil down again over high heat until cream has thickened and turns a golden color. 

Off heat, taste for seasoning, and add a few drops of lemon juice to taste if desired (I didn’t need to). 
Pour the sauce over the cooked chicken breasts, sprinkle with the minced parsley and serve immediately.
Be prepared to say “yum” several times.  Just this once, it’s okay to talk with your mouth full.

Leave a Reply

Categories

