Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | December 19, 2009

Kitchen Wish List

Christmas is a time when we all make those lists declaring to Santa and the world what we want.  For the past 3 years I’ve used a site to manage my Christmas list for Drin – it gives him a description, a picture, a price, and a link to where he can buy it.  It’s a registry of sorts, and it works.  Make Your Christmas List today.  If you’d like to view mine search under joseypayne@yahoo.com – might give you some ideas!

Anyway, the point of that was lists.  I never used to like lists, but I’ve found as time has marched on they have become necessary.  My life gets so busy at times that if I didn’t have a list I wouldn’t know where I was going.  The best kind of list is a wish list.  Who doesn’t love the idea of getting those things they dream of?  Every wish list is unique and says something about the dreamer.  My wish list would tell you that I LOVE spending time in the kitchen – and I love diamonds.  Diamonds aside, though, today is about my kitchen wish list.  Hopefully the old cliche proves correct and all of my dreams will one day come true – culinarily speaking, of course.


Le Creuset
It’s a name that many have become increasingly familiar with since the release of Julie and Julia.  Before the duo introduced it to the masses, though, I’ve always pined for one.  I can’t bring myself to buy the non-name version, even if it is a fraction of the Le Creuset price.  So, I’ll probably start to save my pennies so I can own a piece of cast heaven myself in the future.  I really really really wanted the slate color, 5 1/2 quart round dutch oven, a Williams Sonoma exclusive, but it appears that it has been discontinued – GREAT!  Just my luck.  I guess this is what happens when you sit around and wait.  Well, the dune will have to do.
[Link: Le Creuset 5 1/2 Qt Round Dutch Oven – Dune]


4 Piece Splatter Bowl Set
A simple, inexpensive wish.  I see these bowls used all of the time on Food Network.  They’re stylish, trendy and functional.  Better than that, they’re cheap.  How often can you say that about something you want in a sophisticated kitchen?  Cheap – unheard of!  Well, call it luck, call it whatever you want, these are on my wish list.
[Link: Food Network 4-pc Splatter Bowl Set]


Glass Spice Jars
Spice jars are really subjective.  There are so many kinds, plastic, metal, glass with wooden caps, so many kinds.  I found spice jars that I LOVE at Crate & Barrel.  How awesome is Crate & Barrel?  I could spend a year’s pay in there in an hour, easy.  Fortunately, that won’t be necessary regarding spice jars.  They’re not exactly cheap, but they won’t break the bank, either.  They’re sturdy, they’re attractive, they’re attainable.  You can see your spices, they’re not heavy, bulky, or plastic, and they’re affordable.  I’ll take 20, please.
[Link: Adorable Spice Jars]


Favorite Functional Ramekins

Another discovery at Crate & Barrel, these are multi-functional gems in the kitchen.   You can use them for mise en place, for little snacks, for mousse, for individual eggs, for whatever.  They take up little space and look good doing it.  I’ll take 12, please.
[Link: Favorite Ramekins]


Salter Scale

One would think that they wouldn’t use a scale often in the kitchen.  It’s one of those things that you don’t realize you absolutely need until you’ve used one.  So many sophisticated recipes call for weighted measurements – and we convert.  Why convert, when you can be original?  It’s really what the recipe wants, and besides, it makes you feel all chef-y like – and who doesn’t want that?
[Link: Salter 11-lb Aquatronic Kitchen Scale]


Magnetic Knife Bar
I hate my knife block.  It’s big, it’s annoying, it’s ugly.  I do, however, like to be able to access my knives quickly.  I like to see my knives – something about the flash of steel seems sexy and sophisticated to me.  Knives can be beautiful, right?  You don’t realize how important a good knife is, how personal your relationship with a knife can be, until you’re at someone elses house using their not-so-personal, a knife is a knife is a knife, knives.  It’s awful.  It robs cooking of joy – and who wants that?  I say, Joy to the World – Get a Great Knife – and a great knife magnet so you can stare at it or them in awe.
[Link: Magnetic Knife Bar]

Leave a Reply

Categories

