Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | January 19, 2010

Maddie’s Brownies – AKA Baker’s One Bowl Brownies

Brownies make me happy. 

So does Maddie. 

Maddie, my niece and god-daughter, could be my absolute favorite person in the world.  She’s the most gorgeous creature I think God found time to create.  Everything about her is absolutely delicious, and I’d literally do anything for her.  She makes everything fun – her often dirty little face just tickles me pink. 

Maddie is turning 4 today.  Happy Birthday Mads!  I can’t believe my life has been so blessed for 4 years now.  I remember the day I met her, she was irresistable.  That quality has not lessened – she’s still incredible.  I won’t be home (in Nova Scotia) to share Maddie’s birthday with her – and this saddens me.  So, from 800 or so miles away I’ll just send a Happy Birthday message to my little cherub and offer her brownie recipe to the world.

Maddie made these brownies with me during a trip to Boston in May of 2007 before Tuckerman accepted the position as sous chef here at SoJo’s.  Mads was a wonderful sous chef and I hope she’ll be able to come down to Boston and cover Tuckerman’s two-week vacation this summer (hint, hint).  Of course we snapped a few pictures of the toddler sous in action.  Since then, we’ve framed Maddie and Maddie’s Brownie’s recipe and hung it in the breakfast room for all to see.

Maddie’s Brownies
   adapted from Kraft Foods

Ingredients
4 ounces unsweetened or dark chocolate
3/4 cup butter
2 cups granulated sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup flour
1 cup milk chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Butter a 9×13 inch pan.
Over medium-low heat, melt the chocolate and butter together.
Stir in sugar.
Blend in eggs and vanilla.
Add flour and chocolate chips, mix well.
Spread into prepared pan.
Bake for 30 to 35 minutes.  Do Not overbake.

Leave a Reply

Categories

