Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | February 1, 2010

Chicken Parmigiana

I love to cook with wine.  Sometimes I even put it in the food.

I love that quote.  I also love having free time.  I also love dinner.  And Sundays – so when you cram all of those things together, well, you know, there are no words!

After a day of napping and sofa-nest movie watching – Allen’s Manhattan and Nichols The Graduate – I still had time to make dinner.  I love Sundays – for that reason and many others.  Sundays are prefect for napping, walking, movie watching, cooking and eating.  Did I mention that I love Sundays?  I think I did.  Anyway, I digress – last night I made Sunday dinner.  Drin and I had the absolute best Chicken Parmigiana either of us have ever had, restaurant or kitchen fare, and we’re never going back.  You won’t either.  Trust me.

Another great addage about this recipe is it makes a lot.  I like food that renders left-overs.  I really, seriously, do.  It insures that Drin is fed during lunch hours when I’m off saving the world, one Green Seal certified chemical at a time, and I get dinner if he was too busy beating my sister’s bejewled score or catering to the sous chefs during the day to make dinner.

Chicken Parmigiana – A New SoJo’s Favorite
                                      recipe from The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients
6 boneless, skinless chicken boobs, trimmed and pounded flat
1/2 cup flour
salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons butter
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cups red wine
3 cans (14.5 oz) crushed tomatoes
3 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
1 lb thin linguine

Directions
Combine flour, salt and pepper on a large plate.
Dredge the flattened chicken boobs in the flour mixture; set aside.
Heat olive oil and butter together in a large skillet over medium heat.
Fry dredged chicken boobs until golden brown on both sides; approximately 2-3 minutes per side.
Remove from skillet and keep warm in 200 degree oven.
Without cleaning the skillet add onion and garlic stirring gently for 2 minutes.
Add wine and scrape the bottom of the pan to get all of the flavorful bits off of the bottom (you’re deglazing!).
All the wine to cook down until reduced by about half – approximately 2-3 minutes.
Pour in the crushed tomatoes and stir to combine.
Add sugar and more salt and pepper to taste.
Allow to simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally – toward the end of the cooking time add the parsley.
Carefully lay the browned chicken boobs on top of the sauce and completely cover them in the grated parmesan – sprinkle a little mor parsley, too.
Place a lid on the skillet, turn the heat to low and allow to simmer until the cheese is completely melted on the chicken.
Serve over al dente linguine.

You want this!

Leave a Reply

Categories

