Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | March 11, 2010

Classic Banana Bundt Cake with Vanilla Bean Cream Drizzle

Yes, another Dorie recipe.  Don’t hate.

A while back I “joined” an online baking group.  To join one had to purchase the book, Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: from my home to yours, and agree to the group rules (twice).  The book is fantastic, the group – not so much.  I’m sure many would disagree – and by many I mean the regulars that had been members for nearly 2 years, had already formed clicks, and made it near impossible for newbies to feel involved.  The group had “rules” – lots of rules.  I’m not adverse to rules, I’m a law student, I’m all about rules, but the obvious fact that the group had become too large to manage, and so, new members were all but completely ignored (except when they weren’t following the rules), didn’t exactly make for a fun experience.

Well, moving on, I don’t regret purchasing the book.  From the book I’ve concocted some delicious things, and one not so delicious thing, and this Banana Bundt was wonderful.  It’s big, and moist, and sweet, and easy.  Plus, it gets rid of those ugly bananas that seem to hang out at my house, before they can invite their little tiny pain in the ass fruit fly friends over.  When those jerks show up, it takes way more than baking a cake to get rid of them!

In true SoJo fashion, I had to add a vanilla glaze – it’s just how I roll, or drip.  Besides, Drin likes my glaze – no wait, that’s my ass.  Or both.

Classic Banana Bundt Cake
          loosely adapted from Baking: from my home to yours

Ingredients
3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks butter, at room temperature
2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 large eggs
4 very ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup sour cream

2 cups confectioners’ sugar
half & half, splash
2 teaspoons vanilla extract (mine has bean seeds in it)

Directions
Center a rack in the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.
Generously butter a 9- to 10-inch Bundt pan.
Whisk the flour, baking soda and salt together.
Beat the butter until creamy.
Add the sugar and beat until pale and fluffy.
Beat in the vanilla, then add the eggs one at a time, beating for about 1 minute after each.
Mix in the bananas.
Finally, mix in half the dry ingredients, all the sour cream, and then the rest of the flour mixture. Scrape the batter into the pan, rap the pan on the counter to debubble the batter and smooth the top.
Bake for 65 to 75 minutes, or until a thin knife inserted deep into the center of the cake comes out clean.
Check the cake after about 30 minutes – if it is browning too quickly, cover it loosely with a foil tent.
Transfer the cake to a rack and cool for 10 minutes before unmolding onto the rack to cool to room temperature.

Combine confectioners’ sugar with the vanilla.  Add half & half until you get your desired consistency (I like mine to be the consistency of mayonnaise).  Drizzle over warm cake.

Responses

  1. I just came across your blog and I love it. I also own a Boxer, although she’s not allowed in the kitchen to help, I always know I’m making something good if she’s salivating at the threshold of the kitchen!

    • I’m glad you dropped by! No doubt, boxers are the best. When I started the blog I only had my Tuckerman – then we rescued Layla (who turned out to be a total daddy’s girl) and another great “sous chef”. Thanks for the comment – and the link to your blog – can’t wait to take a look!

  2. Oh Jo, didn’t I tell you you had a sweet ass all those years ago? LOL

    This sounds soo good.. I might have to get a bundt pan and try it out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

