Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | May 18, 2010

Trey’s American Chop Suey

This is my best friend, Tracy, and her boyfriend, Mike.  Mike is in for a shock – his lady-love can cook AND will never love him as much as she loves me.  Fact.  It’s okay, Mike, she’ll love you “different”.  🙂

Anyway, I have a point.  Tracy likes to cook, kinda, and she’s good at it.  One of the things she makes (that is so good  one would I would even eat it out of the pan hours later) is what my family called Goulash.  I’m sure that’s not what it’s called, but I have since learned that Darrin’s family, and several other New Englanders, at least, call it, or some form of it, American Chop Suey.  Drin loves this stuff, especially as left-overs.

The last time I wanted to make this, about 2 weeks ago, I caught my BFF on facebook, and the chat went something like this:

Me:  Hey buddy! Whachu doin?

Tracy:  hey buddy! Nothin just sitting here with Michael

Me:  I’m making your American Chop Suey for dinner tonight

Tracy:  Yay!

Me:  Which means we have to talk

Tracy:  God Jo!  You really have to write that shit down!

Me:  Not gonna happen

She loves me 🙂 ❤

Trey’s American Chop Suey/Goulash
     slightly adapted to please my tongue

Ingredients
1+ lb(s) ground beef
2 cans tomato soup
1/2 Vidalia onion, diced
Lawry’s Seasoning Salt
Mrs. Dash Table Blend
brown sugar
1 lb elbow macaroni


As you can see, the ingredient list is relatively simple.  Despite that, it makes a lot of food – which is great for us left-over lovers.  It’s a great chilly night dinner, or rainy day lunch.

Directions
Brown ground beef with onion in large skillet.
Season with Lawry’s, Mrs. Dash, and fresh ground pepper.
Add both cans tomato soup.
Season further, to taste. (I add some brown sugar to mine)
Meanwhile, boil elbows as per box directions.
Drain and mix with meat mixture.

Done.

Eat your face off.

Responses

  1. YAY!! makes me wanna make it tonight for dinner lol.. i even have garlic bread to go with it… mmm… carbs..

  2. Actually, it is called goulash. My mother used to make it all the time. Amereican Chop Suey means something different to me. But, yes goulash is AMAZING!!! Good job on the blog Jo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

