Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | May 29, 2010

Blueberry Butter Tarts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today breakfast was wonderful – A nice hot cup of Dunkies (Extra Milk and 1 Splenda, please) with delicate little Blueberry Butter Tarts.
Butter Tarts are a Canadian thing and one of many reminders of my glorious and free home.  One summer, while still living in Nova Scotia, I had gone blueberry picking up in “The Valley” and decided I would substitute the typical nuts in butter tarts for blueberries – and I haven’t done it any other way since.  I don’t make these often (though I don’t know why), but my aunt Paulette had mentioned that she made them a few days ago and I haven’t been able to get them out of my mind since.

This time I decided to make mini tarts, they’re only 1 1/2 to 2 inches in diameter, but they’re full of flavor.  The crust, my own recipe, is delicate, buttery, flakey – the filling, sweet, slightly gooey, and bright with a triple dose of blueberry.  Damn these are good, and perfect, I might add, for a weekend breakfast on the porch.

SoJo’s Double Crust Pastry

Ingredients
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup shortening
1/4 cup butter
5 tablespoons ice water

Directions
Whisk together flour and salt.
Cut in shortening and butter.
Add cold water to form dough.
Roll out to fit desired pan.

* I made mine by combining the flour, salt, shortening and butter in the food processor, pulsing a few times, then turn on and add water in a steady stream until dough forms.

Blueberry Butter Tarts

Ingredients
12 tart shells (I made 24 mini shells)
1 1/2 cups blueberries ( I added three berries to each mini tart)
1 egg
1/2 cup corn syrup
1 teaspoon lemon juice
3/4 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon flour
3 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions
Whisk egg with syrup, lemon juice and vanilla.
In a separate bowl, combine flour and brown sugar.
Stir into egg mixture, along with butter.
Divide blueberries evenly among shells (3 per mini shell).
Pour in egg mixture, filling each shell right to the top.
Bake on bottom rack in preheated 375 degree oven.
Bake for 18 to 23 minutes until bubbly and tops are a bit crusty looking.

Responses

  1. even tho i DESPISE blueberry anything (except the berries themselves) these sound amazing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

