Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | June 11, 2010

Country White Bread

Last week I had a really productive day in the kitchen.  It was Sunday, and I knew Drin and I would want something the nosh on throughout the day.  I had just picked up some chicken so decided my New England Chicken Salad would be perfect.  So, I got to making that, and when I searched the freezer for the pecans I spotted a few ziplock bags half full of blueberries from last summer – Nana Hatch’s Blueberry Cake. 

While I was making the Chicken Salad, I came up with the bright idea that it would be perfect if I had some homemade bread to enjoy with it – so –

Jo got to making that, too. 

Then Drin asked, “Can you make the Maple Fennel Sausage pizza this week?” – “Sure.”  And since the yeast was already out, I may as well get to making the crust dough right now.  So – I did that, too.

See, productive.  Please, please, hold your applause.

Anyway, today I was enjoying a slice of that bread, toasted, and mentioned this to my sister.  She offered that she had recently been gifted a bread maker – so – is this not the perfect time to post the bread recipe?  I think so, too.

Country White Bread

Ingredients
1 cup water, plus
1 tablespoon water (70-80 F)
1 large egg
4 1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil
3 1/4 cups bread flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast

Directions
In bread machine pan, place all ingredients from flour through yeast in order as recommended by the manufacturer.
Select the basic bread setting.
Check dough after 5 minutes of mixing, if needed add 1 to 2 tablespoons of water or flour.
Bake as normal.

OR
(If you would rather bake in the oven)

Only use the dough cycle on the bread maker.
Remove dough from bread maker, divide dough evenly between two lightly greased loaf pans.
Cover and let rise in a warm, draft free place until risen to the desired size.
I let them about double in size.
Bake in a 350° oven about 25-30 minutes until golden brown.
After removing from the oven, brush the tops with melted butter.
Take out of pan and let completely cool before storing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

