Posted by: Josey Lyne Payne, Esq. | July 18, 2012

Dark Chocolate Drambuie Fruitcake

I’ve had this recipe for years and years – more than a decade.  I’ve only made it 3 times, or so, and when I do it lasts forever.  Usually, I’m the only one who will eat it.  When I made it a few Christmases ago, however, Drin took a small cake to his Irish boss, another Josey, and now I have someone to share it with.  I was just laying awake in bed thinking about my last negotiations class tomorrow and the time I’ll have to myself to do things that I want to do.  Making fruitcake, for some odd reason, came to mind.  I don’t think I’ll make this straight away, but I did want to get this recipe documented just in case I lose the recipe or can’t find it when I’m ready to make it for Christmas.

Dark Chocolate Drambuie Fruitcake

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups sultanas
1 1/4 cups raisins, chopped
1 cup currants
1/2 cup mixed peel
1/2 cup glace cherries, mixture of red and green
3/4 cup Drambuie
1/6 cup honey
1 tablespoon grated lemon rind
250g butter
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
4 eggs
90g dark chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1 cup flour
1/2 cup self-rising flour
1/8 cup cocoa

Directions
Mix the fruit, 1/2 cup Drambuie, honey, and rind in a large bowl.  Cover and let stand in the fridge overnight or for a few days.
Beat the butter and sugar together until just combined.
Add eggs, one at a time, until combined between additions.
Stir this into the fruit mixture then add the chocolate and nuts.
Sift together the dry ingredients and add to the fruit mixture in 2 batches.
Grease an 8 to 9 inch round springform pan and then line the pan with 2 layers of parchment.
Press the batter into the pan and decorate the top with cherries and nuts.
Bake for 2 hours at 300 degrees.
Brush the hot cake with the remaining Drambuie, cover with foil, and cool in the pan.
Store the cake in the fridge or freezer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

